Creation, by Lightstorm

Creation (Y16)


1977-1980 / 2016

Husband and wife team Johnima and Kalassu Wintergate are Lightstorm: globetrotting musical collaborators retransmitting messages of love from their teacher and Avatar Sathya Sai Baba.

Issued under a variety of aliases (Creation Earth, 331/3, Teeth), the Lightstorm discography is unknown to all but the most obsessed vinyl casualties. Insofar as the irrepressible J&K are known at all, it’s for their twisted, ridiculously entertaining 1982 shot-on-video horror-comedy classic Boardinghouse. (See this movie!)

The ever-unpredictable Drag City / Yoga Records now present the first-ever Lightstorm collection. Creation fuses the best tracks from the spiritual concept double LP Who Am I: One (1977) and sensual glam rock killer 331/3 (1980, as featured in the recent Enjoy The Experience book of private press). 11 pieces of riveting catchy, psych-glam-weirdness, Creation captures both sides of Lightstorm. Soar with ‘Let Your Astral Body Fly’, and rut with ‘Missionary Is Impossible’.

To say that there’s nothing else like Lightstorm would be an understatement, but their natural clear underlying love energy is unmistakable. Experience Creation.

In the band’s own words:

Though fame was often within close reach for Lightstorm, it never materialized on the world stage. The Divine Energy as Creation had a different plan.

Their natural clear underlying love energy, which was mostly due to Johnima’s & Kalassu’s deep personal inner quest for absolute Spiritual Truth and unconditional Love, always vibrated thru all musical renditions and it made the executives unsure since they always worried about the bottom line, “Lightstorm’s DOLLAR value.”

The “Creation Earth” album (which was just too far ahead of its time) got a lot of late night airplay but it seemed that its Spirituality Concept was not quite understood by the average record buying public.

The 33 1/3 album became a turntable hit on various radio stations all over the world, but the actual record sales in the US were very slow; probably due to the sensual overtones, which strangely enough, the Corporate, Government and Religious establishments could not control.

Lightstorm continue to perform and travel the world sharing love and light to remind everyone that we are all-powerful Divine Beings and you too can share light and love wherever you are.


  1. 1 Creation
  2. 2 Walking Into The Sun
  3. 3 I'll Always Be There
  4. 4 Let Your Astral Body Fly
  5. 5 Atma
  6. 6 O' My Love
  7. 7 Just Hold On
  8. 8 Oh How Do I Love U
  9. 9 Monkey Bridge
  10. 10 Spend All Your Love
  11. 11 Missionary Is Impossible


All songs composed by Jonema and Kalassu
and performed by Lightstorm

Creation Earth produced by Johnn Wintergate
recorded in 1977 at Haji Sound and T.T.G. Recording Studios, Hollywood
33 1/3 produced by Lanny Williamson and Johnn Wintergate
recorded in 1980 at Can-Am Studios, Tarzana

All credits go to the flow of love without whose
omnipresent cooperation none of this would have been possible!

My Dears!
Accept my blessings and love! Each one from ego takes his birth and clad in ego dies and comes and goes, gives and receives and earns and spends, and deals in lies or speaks the truth, in ego all the while. Heaven and hell and incarnations, all these from ego are not free. Those who do away with their ego attain salvation. The Lord is ever true, and higher than the highest is, but you must crush your ego and realize him. He is in you, with you and around you. Be happy.
With Love and Blessings,
Sri Sathya Sai Baba